3 leggedness

This morning while stretching for my jog on the first block, I came across a cat who was running with three legs. At first I thought I was seeing things… (not wearing my glasses and all) but when I looked real close, I saw he really only had 3 legs!! The fourth, hind leg, was amputated and God knows what that poor animal had been through. It must have been painful. I began to think (with my little veterinary and much medical knowledge), what could have caused this little kitty’s leg to be amputated. He could’ve had cat diabetes, but I don’t know if cats have that. He could have had a severed nerve. Or he could have had a car run over his little paw. Or maybe… some dog chewed on him! I dunno. I gave up trying to figure it out.

As my heart went out to this little kitty whom I going to call Forrest, he hopped-walked across to me with a slight meow. What happened the next few moments were amazing.

Forrest started to rub against my leg and and I stooped to rub his head, he threw himself on the ground and rolled over for a moment of tummy scratch. Just then I had a moment in my head.

We humans, complain about so much on a daily basis. I am guilty of it too. Sometimes we have so many excuses for why we can’t live, or love, or have fun. It’s the simple things that bother us… not having money, or not having a car, or not having money, or not being the right weight. Upset about how someone has offended us over a cup of tea, or how someone has hurt us in the past, or how someone is affecting us in the present. Trivial things. No matter what, it seems like there is always something to keep us in the moment of ‘upset’. But I think what we often miss is that it could be worse for us. You could have had your leg amputated, or you could have been told you have cancer, or you could have been told that you have three weeks to live. I thought about this while playing with little Forrest. If any of these things had happened to me, the first thing that I would say is ” I wish I had done more with my life”. I would wish I had lived more or called my mom and dad more or spent time with my friends some more. I would have wish I had told the guy I had a crush on that “yes, I do like you, so what?!!” I’ve come to realize that wherever I am in life, whatever I am doing, I am ok. Things could be worse. Forrest lost a leg… but I bet, he was still happy to have three and so he was not going to let any thing stop him from livin’. He approached me with boldness to say “hey, I like you. Will you let me show you?” and when I responded, he was ready to pour out his affection in a moment of play.

Paul said in the bible, ” I’ve learned that whatsoever state i am in, to be content therein”. My lesson today is that I can live on 3 legs. I might not have it altogether, I might not have a fat check in my bank account, I might live in a fancy condo, but what I do have is Christ in me, the hope of glory, who enables me to do all things. Yes, I might have lost a leg, but I have got three other extremities that I can live with, love with and play with. I am dealing with so many people who are letting what happened last year or even last night affect them. How long do you plan to stay upset with that person? With your friend? With the way things are? Would that ‘upset’ even matter if you woke up tomorrow and discovered you now had 3 legs? Would you let that stop you from living, giving, loving? Or would you, like Forrest, get up, learn to adapt and walk again, saying to yourself, “Yea, …… I lost a leg…. but you know what? I\’m Alive !”

~ by YADAH on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
