Today

Someone once said `life is like a box of chocolates`. I guess that’s subject to interpretation. I mean, if you’re allergic to chocolates, then life wouldn’t be all that good. If you like chocolates though, then saying that would mean life is great.

I am not that fond of all types of chocolates, so I can’t make the comparison. I mean, I don’t like chocolates with nuts, I don’t like dark chocolate, I don’t like flaky chocolates. Come to think of it, I think I only like Cadbury. So that pretty much limits the comparison.

But when I think about how life is, I realize that if anything, it’s dynamic. By that I mean every moment in it is only there for that moment. It’s fluid. Non-stagnant. We get 24 hours a day, 7 days a weekm 4 weeks a month and 12 months a year. And each of those parameters don’t repeat themselves. To me, it pretty much means, I can’t waste time…. I can’t waste life.

Today I realize that. Yesterday was one of those days that I just wanted to crawl up in a whole and pass out. So when I woke up today… well let’s just say I was honestly not too thrilled about the idea. But as 7am turned to 8 and 8am turned to 9am. I realized somethin’- the sun was out and the weather was warm. It suddenly hit me that I’ve just survived winter. 4 months!  And to be honest, It all just seemed to be like a fleeting train, where I am unaware of what happened in that time. So… today… I made a decision. To live each second with the understanding that i won’t get it back.

I can’t undo yesterday. Memories will always be etched in my brain. But today… right now… I can do something about that.

What am I trying to say? There are moments of yesterday that create memories for us. I don’t know what those memories are for you. But this I do know. You can’t hold on to yesterday’s memories when today is in front of you. If they are good memories, then you have the opportunity to make more. If they are bad, you have the opportunity to recreate better ones. But God has given you 24 hours. Use it wisely, optimally. Enjoy it to the fullest knowing fully well, you will not get today back.

That’s my five mins in my head today.

Schadah

~ by YADAH on March 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
